Jonathan BROCHU

Our Team

Company Acrobat and Teacher

JONATHAN BROCHU

Jonathan BROCHU

Sports and arts have always been a part of Jonathan’s life. His youth was filled with gymnastics, hockey, soccer, opera singing, ballroom dancing and track and field, which unconsciously forged his future physical career. He later studied hand to hand, acting, dance and other disciplines at the National Circus School of Montreal (2000-2003), specializing in hand balancing and acrobatics. He also trained for chinese pole rigorously, which became one of his specialties in Cirque du Soleil’s Saltimbanco.

Jonathan has been mixing circus arts with dance since 2004, putting to use the various dance trainings he received during his youth. He thus performed in many shows such as Bombay Blue, Viva Casino and others on cruise ships.

His work extended to the screen when he started doing commercials for companies such as Danone (2003) and Artv (2012) and appearing as a coach in ILS DANSENT (2011).As for coaching, Jonathan has shared his expertise by teaching at the National Circus School of Montreal, Cirque du Soleil and other sports and cultural establishments. He also had the chance to give workshops in different parts of the world.

After 10 years of work as a professional in more than 15 different countries, Jonathan joins SYLVIAERA’s team as a professional performer and a teacher in 2013. He shares his experience, know-how and energy through the “Acrobatics for Dancers” classes, which are customized for beginners as well intermediate students of all ages.

Jonathan BROCHU

Notre Équipe

Acrobate de la Compagnie + Professeur

JONATHAN BROCHU

Jonathan BROCHU

Le sport et les arts ont toujours été très présents dans la vie de Jonathan Brochu. Plus jeune, la gymnastique, le hockey, le soccer, le chant (opéra), la danse sociale (Ballroom) et l’athlétisme étaient déjà les prémices d’un futur artiste physique. À l’École Nationale de Cirque de Montréal, de 2000 à 2003, où il étudie le « main à main » le jeu, la danse et plusieurs autres disciplines, Jonathan se spécialise en Équilibre et en Acrobatie.

Avec Saltimbanco du Cirque du Soleil (2005-2006), il travaille de façon rigoureuse le mât chinois qui devient par la suite une autre de ses spécialités. Avec les formations reçues dans différents types de danse depuis son jeune âge, Jonathan marie, depuis 2004, les Arts du cirque et la danse dans plusieurs productions dont Bombay Blue, Viva Casino et de nombreux spectacles sur des bateaux de croisière.

Membre de l’UDA et d’En Piste (regroupement d’artistes de cirque professionnels), sa polyvalence l’a amené à performer / enseigner à l’écran dans ILS DANSENT (téléréalité diffusée sur les ondes de Radio-Canada à l’automne 2011) et dans divers commerciaux dont Danone (2003) et Artv (2012). Jonathan a aussi enseigné à l’ÉNC, au Cirque du Soleil ainsi que dans d’autres établissements sportifs et culturels. Il a aussi eu l’opportunité de donner des ateliers d’acrobatie et d’équilibre un peu partout dans le monde.

Après avoir travaillé dans plus de 15 pays différents au cours des 10 dernières années, Jonathan se joint en 2013 à l’équipe SYLVIAERA en tant qu’ Artiste professionnel et enseignant. Il partage son savoir faire et sa passionnante énergie à travers les cours d’« Acrobaties pour Danseurs» et de « Stretching à la Mer » qu’il donne aux jeunes élèves ainsi qu’aux danseurs adultes de tous les niveaux.